Radial menu colours

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jag75auau
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:24 pm

Radial menu colours

Post by jag75auau » Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:46 pm

Is the a way to change colours of the backgound from the radial menus. With autodesk changing the icon of autocad they a washed out in the background as per the attachment.

Cheers
John
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (16.85 KiB) Viewed 6962 times

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by UtaSH » Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:38 am

Hello John,

it seems you have some special settings on your machine. We tried it here on several machines and all show a clear picture of the icons. Could it be that you have any special AutoCAD setting that has a high transparency?

jag75auau
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:24 pm

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by jag75auau » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:29 pm

It was a standalone install of product design suite 2019 - not an upgrade. Issue wasn't there in 2017. I have global menu transparency disabled and the only display setting I have changed is setting classic colours - which makes no difference if I set it to standard colours.

Many of the icons even looked washed out in the 3dxware settings as per the attachment.

Cheers
John
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (58.61 KiB) Viewed 6953 times

jag75auau
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:24 pm

(SOLVED) Radial menu colours

Post by jag75auau » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:12 pm

Issue was with Windows 7. Changing the visual in the system settings has fixed the problem now.

Cheers
John

jag75auau
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:24 pm

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by jag75auau » Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:03 pm

Revised - This is not an issue with Windows and IS an issue with the 3Dxware software.

The problem returned when I changed to the "Dark" colour scheme in Autocad and then I believe the issue is now Autocad comes with 2 sets of Icons for the menus - 1 for the Light and 1 for the Dark. The 3Dxware software is picking up whichever is loaded on the Autocad startup. If you use the Dark scheme then to colours of the icons look dull because their designed for a dark background.

IS there a way to change the background colour of the radial menu?

Cheers
John

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by UtaSH » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:37 am

Hi John,

unfortunately the answer is NO. There is currently no possibility to change the background color in the Radial Menu.

And we do not see the issue when we use AutoCAD with the dark scheme. The Radial Menu looks the same when we use the light scheme or the dark scheme. And the isons are visble in both situations.

Please let me know which 3Dconnexion driver you have installed.

jag75auau
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:24 pm

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by jag75auau » Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:33 pm

3DxWare 10.5.12
3DxWinCore 17.5.12.15663
Windows 7 Pro
I have a CadMouse Wireless & SpaceMouse Wireless.

You need to resatart Autocad after changing the colour theme to see the results in the radial menus. If I just change to the dark theme without restarting it looks fine.
LIGHT.jpg
LIGHT.jpg (44.24 KiB) Viewed 6903 times
DARK - wo RESTART.jpg
DARK - wo RESTART.jpg (42.01 KiB) Viewed 6903 times
DARK.jpg
DARK.jpg (38.95 KiB) Viewed 6903 times

Dctrekkie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:14 am

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by Dctrekkie » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:32 am

Just to bump this thread, I'm having the same issue. Icons are almost unreadable when using AutoCAD's dark theme, particularly using 8 segments. The option to change the background colour, or even just toggle light\dark grey, would make things a lot better.


Light Theme

Image

Dark Theme

Image

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Radial menu colours

Post by UtaSH » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:02 am

I still cannot reproduce the issue. I am starting AutoCAD in Dark Theme and can see the icons on the RM. :( You must have any special settings or additional addins that we do not have.

Post Reply