Custom cap Commands

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Custom cap Commands

Post by Fred » Thu Jun 19, 2014 2:25 pm

click on the 3dicon in your system tray, this opens the properties
Once open You'll see Firefox and your device
Click on Advanced Settings
You'll find the command to switch the Zoom for up/down or Forward/backward
Make your changes click Close and push OK

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Custom cap Commands

Post by Fred » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:49 am

Not until they add this feature into this driver. If the application has not implemented support using our SDK it will not be recognized.

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Custom cap Commands

Post by Fred » Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:38 am

3Dconnexion decided on using the same policy as before.

"In order to use it with 3Dconnexion devices, support for 3D devices would need to be added inside their software.
Adding 3D device support to an application is determined by the application developer rather than by 3Dconnexion. We have an SDK [Development Kit] which any software developer can download at no cost and which allows the integration of 3D device support in proprietary software.
http://www.3dconnexion.com/service/soft ... loper.html

We advise our customers to contact the Customer Service of applications that are lacking support and request it be added in future versions of their software. The decision to include 3D support in their development schedule is often influenced by the level of customer interest."

I have no instructions on editing the xml file you will have to see if one of the programmers will give you the instructions.

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2660
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Custom cap Commands

Post by jwick » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:05 am

Even though the GUI has been removed, the driver can do everything it did before.
You just have to get good at notepad (actually I like notepad++).

What do you want to do?

If you had an old beta with 3DxConfig, you can use most of those xml files in the latest driver. I've changed some things, so the files may not be directly usable. Only the top part of the files has changed. If you spent time editing the Device/Axis elements, you should be able to copy that directly into a new file.

Take a look at the files. You have an executable, some devices, and each device has Axes with Input and Output specifications. It's meant to be human-readable. OK maybe geek-readable.

If you used 3DxConfig, it created a file with an ExecutableName for your app (to recognize it), and with Axes/Output/ActionIDs set to, probably, keyboard functions. There are no surprises in there. If it is in the XML, it is readable by 3DxService and it will get used when the named application is in focus.

Post Reply