Autodesk Revit

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

xophe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:16 am

Autodesk Revit

Post by xophe » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:15 pm

Does SpaceNavigator work with Autodesk Revit? As this program is growing fast, one expects a plug-in for it.
Can SpaceNavigator be used by any CAD program for some basic functions or do you always need the exact driver for the program?

Thanks.

znissan
User
User
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Post by znissan » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:22 pm

Hello xophe:

Unfortunately, it does not. 3Dconnexion is unable to build a plug-in as the current API for Revit does not allow us to change the views in order to provide navigation with our devices. We have asked Autodesk for help, and we are also asking customers to please send requests to Autodesk so that they become increasingly aware of the demand.

As for your second question, you do need to install 3DxSoftware to run with our devices. Application support depends on the application. You can visit our website to view the list of applications that our devices work with at http://www.3dconnexion.com/solutions/cad/2aa.php.

Ziva Nissan
3Dconnexion, Inc.

xophe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:16 am

Post by xophe » Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:50 pm

Hey Ziva,
Thanks for the quick response.
I've been having fun with Google Earth for the last hour with my SpaceNavigator; it makes one only dream about the possibilities with Revit.
I'll send a request to Autodesk rightaway. I hope it works out, all other Autodesk programs work OK.

CU in the future.
xophe

ACE001
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:33 am

Post by ACE001 » Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:36 am

Yes, Please get this working on Autodesk Revit. My firm is switching from AutoCad to Revit and this tool is perfect for it.
Thanks

ngomes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:22 am
Contact:

Post by ngomes » Mon Dec 18, 2006 4:19 am

Hi ACE001,
ACE001 wrote:Yes, Please get this working on Autodesk Revit.
Have a look on znissan's post above. 3Dconnexion cannot provide add support for our device in Revit due to limitations on the application API. If you would like to use one of our devices with Revit, we advise you to contact Autodesk and let them know how cool it would be. We would also appreciate if you could post here any information you receive from them.
Nuno Gomes

xophe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:16 am

Reply from Autodesk

Post by xophe » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:11 am

Hello guys,

Here's the mail I got from Autodesk:

"Dear xophe,
Thank you very much for feedback as this is really valuable to us.
Have a nice afternoon.
Kind regards,
Lykke"

So let's hope they also do something with feedback and Revit 10 which will be launched in april get an open API.

Enjoy the 3D world (the real one)
Merry Christmas to you all.

xophe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:16 am

Do the same

Post by xophe » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:15 am

By the way, although Autodesk is a massive coorporation, they DO reply, so start sending those requests for 3Dconnexion implementation... one day it will pay off. AutoCAD, Inventor and Maya work with it don't they.

ngomes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:22 am
Contact:

Re: Do the same

Post by ngomes » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:12 am

Hi xophe,
xophe wrote:AutoCAD, Inventor and Maya work with it don't they.
They do albeit the support is implemented differently.
The 3Dconnexion plug-in for Inventor adds support for extensive button programming (nearly all of the application commands) with automatic context (environment) detection. Navigation in Inventor is implement natively (plug-in is not required).
We also provide plug-ins for AutoCAD 2007 and above (navigation) and Maya 6 and above (navigation and button programming).
Thanks for sending the note to Autodesk. Every request helps all of us to have a more extensive and rich experience when using 3D controllers.

ArynBergman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:09 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

How long would it take to build the drivers for Revit?

Post by ArynBergman » Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:02 pm

If the guys at autodesk allowed you to change the views, how long would it take for you to release a version of 3DxWare that will work with Revit?

znissan
User
User
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Post by znissan » Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:56 pm

Hello ArynBergman:

If Autodesk is ready to spend development cycles, it would be infinitely better and makes more sense for Autodesk to implement native support for our devices using our latest SDK than to make changes to their API so we can build a plug-in. Performance is usually higher when the support is native.

Ziva Nissan
3Dconnexion, Inc.

ArynBergman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:09 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Contact info

Post by ArynBergman » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:54 pm

Hey Ziva,

Thanks for the quick response. Could you email me yours or the correct contact person's contact info so that I may pass it on it the Autodesk guys? I don't know how much it'll do, but its worth a shot. When you get the chance, please email it to me at ArynBergman@hotmail.com.

Thanks,
Aryn

xophe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:16 am

Revit 2008

Post by xophe » Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:00 am

Hello Ziva,

The new Revit is launched and Autodesk speaks about big changes in API. Do you know whether the API will make use of the SpaceNavigator possible?

Kind Regards,
xophe
architect

sorin
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:20 am
Location: RO

Post by sorin » Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:27 am

it's a no for revit 2008 too. they didn't change the api in that area.

znissan
User
User
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Post by znissan » Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:26 am

Sorry for not posting earlier, xophe. Sorin took care of it, though. :)

In any case, the better investment that Autodesk can make is just to implement our SDK. We won't lose hope!

Ziva Nissan
3Dconnexion, Inc.

Dace
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:14 pm

Post by Dace » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:37 pm

A colleague of mine is very well connected with the Revit development team at Autodesk, and I heard from him a few weeks ago about 3Dconnexion implementation with Revit. He says: "Also, at AU, I learned that it might be a year or more before the space ball is supported. "

So, while the timing isn't exactly favorable, it's encouraging to know that someone, somewhere at Autodesk might actually be considering a future implementation...

Post Reply