Rotating component in ProE assembly

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
pkorpela@convia.fi
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:27 pm

Rotating component in ProE assembly

Post by pkorpela@convia.fi » Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:33 pm

Hi,

We would be interested to use SpacePilot with Pro/ENGINEER. There seems to be one key thing missing.

Is there any means to rotate in assembly mode only the
component to be placed? Normally in ProE you press CTRL+ALT and middle
mouse button to spin the component being assembled. When you release
CTRL+ALT, the whole assembly rotates. To have an easy way to switch
between rotation modes (component vs. whole assembly) would be important because we do lot of assemblies.

And using keyborad and normal mouse to do this is really not optimum solution. (Since most of our modeling tasks are creating assemblies)

Best regards,
Perttu Korpela

znissan
User
User
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Post by znissan » Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:06 pm

Hello Perttu:

That's a nice request and a feature that exists in other applications as well. PTC supports navigation in our devices natively, and since rotating a part within an assembly is part and parcel of that support, we would need PTC to implement, with our help of course.

I'd suggest sending an email to PTC with this request -- customer requests are always important to our partners.

Ziva Nissan
3Dconnexion, Inc.

tonny
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:13 am

Post by tonny » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:07 am

Hello,

you can always rotate your part in a seperat window(next to the pause button) with the spacepilot, which is available in the assembly mode during definition of placement. By dragging your mouse or pen into the right window, the spacepilot becomes active in that specific window.
I do use the spacepiot also, I just can recommend it.

Tonny

pkorpela@convia.fi
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:27 pm

Tonny

Post by pkorpela@convia.fi » Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:57 am

Thanks for good tip. I will try to remember using separate window in future.

Cheers,
Perttu

Post Reply