Can't roll in aplications

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
JoeCAD
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:49 pm

Can't roll in aplications

Post by JoeCAD » Sat Mar 31, 2007 3:07 pm

Hi,
I am experiencing a restriction to a rotation axis.

I am using Google Earth 4 and 3DMax 8 on a WinXP SP2 machine.

When I want to "Roll" (the most bottom axis entry in the control panel)
in either application it simply rotates around the Z axis and doesn't
roll. Basically the two last entrys Drehen & Rollen (I have the german driver :roll: ) perform the same action..they turn.
I have also experienced this on my Laptop (XPSP2 3DMAX8...).

But when I use the Cube-Demo, everything works fine.
All six axis then work fine

I am using the most current driver(6.17), I have checked every possible
setting in the control panel (tried every setting seperatly and in conjunction with one another.... took me hours!). My cpu is below 50% when using the 3dNav.

Could you please help me?
5 axis is already incredible..but 6 would be the so called icing on the cake.

Thanks in advance

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Can't roll in aplications

Post by agoenczi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:39 am

Hi JoeCAD

In GoogleEarth the rolling movement is not implemented (it is normal, what you are experiencing).

In the case of 3DStudio Max please have a little bit of patience, I will write you soon again.
agoenczi

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Can't roll in aplications

Post by agoenczi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:51 am

Hi JoeCAD

Did you change the zoom direction in the "3Dconnexion Control Panel" for 3DStudio Max?
agoenczi

JoeCAD
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:49 pm

Post by JoeCAD » Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:55 am

Hi,

I was desperately hoping for an answer. And I just now found
it myself.
When pushing the right button, the control panel opens up.
No program open yet!
Now when I start up 3DMax and then push the right button,
a small window opens up called 3Dx Control. It's different,
far different than the usual control panel. It's grey and long
but small.
It has 3 sub-boxes called "Camera/View Movement", "Options"
and "Device Settings".

In the Top box (they're above one another, that why I mentioned slim)
there is a box that is checked, and it's called "Disable Rolling".
Unchecking it solved my problem of not being able to Roll.

Why this different control panel and why is this box checked as standard?

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Can't roll in aplications

Post by agoenczi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:12 am

Hi JoeCAD

There are 2 different setting possibilities, but they also work differently.

The one you can activate from the system tray and called "3dconnexion Control Panel" is the one belonging to the driver itself. It is intended to be used with the "Any Application" meaning that you can have proprietary settings without an add-in too.

The other one belongs to the add-in. If an add-in is available for an application I would advise all the customers to use that settings. The add-in is context-sensitive meaning that the add-in can react differently under different modes of the program. And each program-mode can have own settings (different button mappings, different movements enabled/disabled, different speed settings).
agoenczi

Post Reply