Space navigater PE and SolidWorks

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
bluvdini
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Canada

Space navigater PE and SolidWorks

Post by bluvdini » Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:23 pm

Just bought the SpaceNavigator PE and it does not work with SolidWorks2005
I loaded most recent driver from 3dconnexion.
Soilid Works does not see it as Add-In for some reason. Is it possible that I have to use the previous version driver.
I would really appreciate somebody helping me on this issue.
Thank you

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

pace navigater PE and SolidWorks 2005

Post by agoenczi » Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:03 am

Hi bluvdini

Did you try the demos?

Have you installed the 3DxSoftware as an administrator?

Can you at least navigate in SolidWorks?
agoenczi

bluvdini
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Canada

Post by bluvdini » Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:33 pm

Hello there,
Thanks for your reply
The Space Navigator PE works well with demos and with Picture viewer but it does not respond to Solid Works at all, nothing. Wasted alot of time trying to see what the problem is.
I would assume if I did not install the software as the administrator it would not work with the Google Earth Either.
How can I check if the Addins are placed in the SolidWorks file. Is there a manual way to put in the Addinns?
Thank you
Looking forward to hear from you

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Space navigater PE and SolidWorks

Post by agoenczi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:32 am

Hi bluvdini

Please check if the 3Dcontrol add-in is recognized by SolidWorks. If it is, then please follow the next steps:

1) Uninstall all 3Dconnexion software with the "Add/Remove Programs" utility
2) Reboot the machine
3) Login as Administrator
4) Install 3DxSoftware v. 3.1.8; afterwards check if the "3Dconnexion Add-In for SolidWorks" item is available on the "Start" menu under "Programs", "3Dconnexion".
5) Start SolidWorks, check that the "3Dcontrol" add-in is listed in the add-in manager panel and that it is activated.

Finally please post your findings here.
agoenczi

Post Reply