Problems with Catia v5 r17

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:58 am

confirmed. It did work for a split second. It just did it again after I went in Start->Programs->Administrative Tools->Services and stopped the service called Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing and started up catia again. Then after that nothing, no response, even if i restart catia. Same symptons as before. So something went dead... Can you find out what?

Jolsowka
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:54 pm

Post by Jolsowka » Thu Mar 08, 2007 7:18 am

It didn't work me either. Works fine in FEMAP though. I allowed Cnext and 3dxsrv through the exceptions tab (even though windows firewall is turned off) and there was no change in the availability of the spaceball in Catia.

Jolsowka
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:54 pm

Post by Jolsowka » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:27 am

Hey Sebt,
I shut off my firewall all together and when I start Catia for the first time and open up a part it zooms into the part and then does a slight jump. Is this what you are experiencing? I get the jump everytime without touching the spaceball.

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Post by Fred » Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:23 am

Catia natively delivers support for 3Dconnexion devices.
Have you contacted Catia?
Check there site for a update or patch They use our SDK to create a driver that works in there Application.
IT sounds like they may have to make some trweaks in the software to recognize the Navigators.

Jolsowka
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:54 pm

Post by Jolsowka » Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:30 am

Believe it or not, I have a rep from INCAT who is here today to answer questions about Catia and he says has never heard of this problem before. He's gonna look into it.

Fred, should the spaceball be able to work without the 3Dx driver and use the native Catia driver?

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Post by Fred » Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:58 am

No, you would still install the 3dx driver.
With the driver loaded and running
Open Catia
It should identify the Navigator and load there built in plugin.

The only issues I have seen was if there was a firewall running and it blocked the CNEXT file.

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:43 pm

Hey Jolsowka,

Well thats what I thought of the first time. It's very similar. I opened a new part in part design and moved the Spacenavigator. The Axis system moved 1mm and then nothing even after several relaunches of catia.

Then I stopped the windows firewall SERVICE (not the control panel), opened up catia, moved the SN, and there again the axis system moved 1mm and then zilch again. Could the catia daemon have crashed on both these occasions or on launch?

Fred, any idea where I can access Catia updates/patches? I just created an account in my support, but all i have access to in my downloads is 3D xml stuff and a bunch of marketing goodies... Or do I have to be a CAD admin to access this stuff?

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Post by Fred » Thu Mar 08, 2007 2:10 pm

Do you have access to a forum or number to call them direct?
They should be able to direct you to there download page.

Unfortunately i donot have access :cry:

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:36 am

Nope. Nothing of any use. Besides, according to our CAD IT guy, any patches/updates are all lobbed into a service pack, and i have the latest one installed (8) :( .

Might have a chance to test the space navigator on a R17 workstation next week. I'll let you know how it goes.

Could you maybe fwd this issue to your contacts at Dassault/Catia?

Cheers

Seb

Fred
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:15 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Post by Fred » Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:02 am

Sebt

Send me a copy of your log file.
Open the 3dcontrol click on
Tools
Make sure Create log file is checked.
Open Catia
Then after the driver starts then stops
locate the log file and send it to:
helpdesk@3dconnexion.com

Include Name
Business address
Phone number
Email address
OS

Device
Serial number (located on the tag next to the usb plug)
Exact version of Catia
Is Catia On the network or Local.

You can copy and paste the Issue in the email as well.
I will forward this up to the Engineers to see if they can duplicate it.
Thsi way We can work together with Catia and fix the built in driver.

Put it attention Fred i will look for your email :D

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:00 am

Hey Fred,

Thanks for that, will do in cpl of days. I might be able to test it with Catia R17 tomorrow. If so i'll send you both logs so you can compare them. I just did a few tests with Catia R16 and compared it to one of the demos (3D cube). In the meantime, here's a little preview, on starting up Catia, I get something different than when i start the demo. (I added comments in the log to make things clearer)

;---------------- Lauching Catia R16 SP8 ---------------------

;---------------------(nothing logged)-----------------------

;---------------- Lauching Part Design (new part created) -----------------

18:15:30.324: mwmtranslog - App sends us its handle under command event
18:15:30.324: UdCtl: Protocol 10 request to open connection for hwnd 0x80540.
18:15:30.324: UdCtl: App transport list: 18:15:30.324: 50 18:15:30.324: 10 18:15:30.340:
18:15:30.340: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Documents and Settings\taylorse\Application Data\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\profiles\user02.scg
18:15:30.356: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Documents and Settings\taylorse\Application Data\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\profiles\user02.scg
18:15:30.371: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Space Target, sync->opCode=3, sync->itemCode=12
18:15:30.371: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_SET.SI_SYNC_ITEM_AXES_STATE: item=12, hashCode=0x292, state=0x3f
18:15:30.387: udui.cpp:QueryAppForGuiSync: Calling UdCtlSendSync
18:15:30.387: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Space Target, sync->opCode=1, sync->itemCode=2
18:15:30.387: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_COMMAND: item=2, hashCode=0x292
18:15:30.387: UdArbitrate: New Target: hWnd: 0x80540, Class Name: AfxWnd70u, AppName (SiOpen): Space Target, ExeName: CNEXT.exe
18:15:30.403: UdCtl: Open accepted on protocol 10 for application: Space Target(CNEXT.exe)
18:15:30.481: UdUi:HandleSyncGet: rec'd SI_SYNC_ITEM_NUMBER_OF_FUNCTIONS request
18:15:30.481: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Space Target, sync->opCode=3, sync->itemCode=4
18:15:30.481: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_SET.SI_SYNC_ITEM_NUMBER_OF_FUNCTIONS: item=4, hashCode=0x292, n=41
18:15:30.481: UdUi:HandleSyncGet: rec'd SI_SYNC_ITEM_SCALE_OVERALL request
18:15:30.481: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Space Target, sync->opCode=3, sync->itemCode=14
18:15:30.481: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_SET.SI_SYNC_ITEM_SCALE_OVERALL: item=14, hashCode=0x292, val=0.500000

And the UdCtlTransSendSync goes on for every possible command...

Whereas in the 3D cube demo, we have:

;---------------------- opening 3d cube demo --------------------
18:23:39.991: mwmtranslog - App sends us its handle under command event
18:23:39.991: UdCtl: Protocol 10 request to open connection for hwnd 0x220742.
18:23:39.991: UdCtl: App transport list: 18:23:39.991: 50 18:23:39.991: 10 18:23:39.991:
18:23:39.991: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Documents and Settings\taylorse\Application Data\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\profiles\user02.scg
18:23:40.006: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Documents and Settings\taylorse\Application Data\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\profiles\user02.scg
18:23:40.022: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Cube 3D Demo, sync->opCode=3, sync->itemCode=12
18:23:40.022: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_SET.SI_SYNC_ITEM_AXES_STATE: item=12, hashCode=0x2a6, state=0x3f
18:23:40.037: udui.cpp:QueryAppForGuiSync: Calling UdCtlSendSync
18:23:40.037: UdCtlTransSendSync: AppName=Cube 3D Demo, sync->opCode=1, sync->itemCode=2
18:23:40.037: mwmtrans:UdTransSendSync: sending SI_SYNC_OP_COMMAND: item=2, hashCode=0x2a6
18:23:40.147: UdUi->AutoSave: Wrote Config File 18:23:40.147: C:\Documents and Settings\taylorse\Application Data\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\profiles\user02.scg18:23:40.147:
18:23:40.147: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3Dconnexion 3DxSoftware\3DxWare\FR_FR\profiles\default\any.scg
18:23:40.162: UdUi:TlReadConfigFile: Reading file: C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3Dconnexion 3DxSoftware\3DxWare\FR_FR\profiles\default\any.scg
18:23:40.209: UdArbitrate: New Target: hWnd: 0x220742, Class Name: MAGELLANCUBE3DCLASS, AppName (SiOpen): Cube 3D Demo, ExeName: Cube3D.exe
18:23:40.209: UdCtl: Open accepted on protocol 10 for application: Cube 3D Demo(Cube3D.exe)
18:23:40.209: mwmtranslog - App sends us its handle under command event
18:23:40.209: UdCtl: Protocol 10 request to open connection for hwnd 0x220742.
18:23:40.209: UdCtl: App transport list: 18:23:40.209: 50 18:23:40.209: 10 18:23:40.209:
18:23:40.209: mwmtranslog - App sends us its handle under command event
18:23:40.209: UdCtl: Protocol 10 request to open connection for hwnd 0x220742.
18:23:40.209: UdCtl: App transport list: 18:23:40.209: 50 18:23:40.209: 10 18:23:40.209:
18:23:40.209: mwmtranslog - AppStarts Event Called
18:23:40.209: mwmtranslog - App requested beep
;------------------------ navigation successfull on all 6 axes - no results (navigation) recorded in log --------------------
;------------------------ Closing 3D cube demo -----------------------------------

So on the surface of things, nothing that jumps to the eye like a failed launch etc.. just why with Catia does it send a sync signals for all functions. Is this normal? If all this looks OK, then I guess CATIA's Space Target app is at fault.. :?

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Catia V5 R17

Post by agoenczi » Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:28 am

Hi sebt

Do you use any macro?

Please verify in the list of environment variables (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> System -> Environment) if a variable "ADL_ODT_IN" is set. If so please replace it with the variable "CATNoStartDocument".
agoenczi

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Thu Mar 15, 2007 2:45 am

Yes I do! Value is set 1.

I don't have privilieges to do this at the mo, I'll let you know the result when I get hold of our IT guy.

Cheers

Seb

ngomes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2009
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:22 am
Contact:

Post by ngomes » Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:04 am

Hi sebt,

A wee snippet of information regarding the variable ADL_ODT_IN. This environment variable is used internally by Dassault during qualification tests of the application (CATIA V5, ENOVIA V5, DELMIA V5) and was never meant to be released in the wild.
CATIA customers tend to use the variable to speed-up the start of the application but it will disable all support for third-party input devices (not just 3Dconnexion controllers).
As agoenczi suggested, defining the variable CATNoStartDocument provides a faster loading of the application but no longer disables the 3D controllers.
Nuno Gomes

sebt
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:40 am

Post by sebt » Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:19 am

So I changed the variable today with high hopes, especially after what you said ngomes (thx - makes a lot of sense), and did a log out and log in again.

But still, no luck despite several attempts... :(







And then... cos you never know... did a restart.... fired up catia not expecting any difference... nudged my shroom...

AND IT WOOOORRKS!! WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! :mrgreen: :D :D :D :D :D :D :D


Love it! ! adds a totally new dimension - a real 3rd! you get immersed real easy into the model and just fly around it//breeze it around! :D

Thanks guys for all the help! You've been great! ;)

Muchas muchas gracias

Seb

Edit: only trouble is, it's kinda hard to focus any work right now, I can't stop myself from flying the cad model all around, back and forth loop into a figure of eight with a spining roll and back again... :D

Post Reply