disable roll in Cinema4d

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
peter pankras
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:20 am

disable roll in Cinema4d

Post by peter pankras » Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:23 am

Hi

Since a few weeks I own a spacetraveler.. what a nice thing! why didn;t I buy one earlier.

I use it in both Maya and Cinema 4D.

however.. in maya you can disable the roll of the camera..

Hoe can do the same thing in cinema 4D! I would love to be able to disable the roll on my camera.. so I have one less DOF to worry about.. :D

thanx

Peter

peter pankras
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:20 am

Post by peter pankras » Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:54 am

fixed it already!

So for all cinema users here's how to do it.

Create a manual camera so don;t use the editor cam.

Select the camera and add an xpresso node.
Now add a contant node set it to 0 and connect that to the rotate B of you camera!

viola.. now your camera cannot roll anymore.

So unless there is an easier way to do this.. this is a way to fix it.

Now all I need is support for mudbox!

cheers

Peter

agoenczi
User
User
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:17 am
Location: EU

Post by agoenczi » Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:41 am

Hi peter pankras

I am glad that you could solve your problem.

What about mudbox, please see the the following post.

Ixolite
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:15 am

Post by Ixolite » Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:18 am

Great tip, that helped me a lot :)

ghannigan
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:31 am

Post by ghannigan » Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:23 pm

I'm using the Space Navigator. In C4D, I can prevent roll by going to the Space Mouse manager, Navigate tab - Rotation: leave only H checked for Axis. I can still Zoom, Rotate around Y and go up & down, but no Roll. H controls Heading so rotation is around the Y Axis. P (Pitch) and B(Banking) can be controlled the same way.

George

Post Reply