Bug with 3ds Max

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
wallworm
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Bug with 3ds Max

Post by wallworm » Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:57 am

Something started happening to me in the last few weeks where the Navigation menus at the bottom right of the Max viewport keep switching to the Light navigation tools instead of standard navigation tools that should be there when in Perspective or orthographic views. I was already suspecting this was from the Space Mouse Enterprise on my system. I'm now very confident it's from the spacemouse.

Here is a thread on the FB Group called the Stack (a 3ds Max group):

https://www.facebook.com/groups/stackth ... 938393735/

The common thread of the problem is that it's those using 3D Connexion are having this issue. I currently have the 10.6.4 drivers installed. Since I didn't notice the problem until recently, I suspect it may have been introduced with that update.

To clarify, the icons on this page show at the top image what menus/icons should be present: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... 3-htm.html

This is the menus/icons that appear every few minutes from this bug: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... D-htm.html (the docs page shows older icons so I'm attaching a copy of the Max 2020 icons to this post).
Attachments
lightmenus.png
lightmenus.png (18.76 KiB) Viewed 2082 times
Shawn Olson
Developer of Wall Worm

Autodesk 3ds Max Expert Elite
Autodesk 3ds Max Charter Member

wallworm
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug with 3ds Max

Post by wallworm » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:40 am

As a test, I reverted to the 10.6.3 drivers and see the issue persists.

I am on Windows 10 using 3ds Max 2020.3 .

Hopefully we can get an update to fix this. I've already gotten several friends to get a Space Mouse … it would help me save some face to get a fix! :)
Shawn Olson
Developer of Wall Worm

Autodesk 3ds Max Expert Elite
Autodesk 3ds Max Charter Member

mbonk
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:06 am

Re: Bug with 3ds Max

Post by mbonk » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:41 am

We can reproduce this issue and are working on a fix.

pixelicidio
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:29 pm

Re: Bug with 3ds Max

Post by pixelicidio » Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:43 pm

Same here. Exactly the same problem.
Using: Max 2017 on Windows 7
Drivers: 3DxWare64_v10-6-4_r3119

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug with 3ds Max

Post by UtaSH » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:33 am

Hi all,

on Feb 7th, we have released 3DxWare 10.6.5 with some changes to the 3dsmax plugin. You can download this version here. Please install 10.6.5 and let us know if this version of 3DxStudio fixes your issues.

Thanks,

Post Reply