CadMouse Default Button Settings

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
SWard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:57 pm

CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by SWard »

I am trying to change the default profile for the CadMouse button funtions. So no matter what the application is, I want specific buttons to do the same thing in all of them.

More specifically, I want the "Forward Mouse Button" to perform the WIN-TAB macro (Task View) by default no matter what application I'm using, ideally without haviong to set it manually within the GUI for every single application as shown below.
WantedDefault.PNG
WantedDefault.PNG (35.3 KiB) Viewed 4130 times
Macro.PNG
Macro.PNG (12.26 KiB) Viewed 4130 times
A previous thread advised changing the <Devices> portion of the Global.xml Cfg file to match the <Devices> portion of an .xml file for an application that had already been modified using the GUI. The problem I'm having with this is that none of the applicaiton specific .xml files seem to be updating when I change a button function using the GUI. The function still works when I change it using the GUI, even though the .xml files are not being overwritten for that specific application. Am I missunderstanding how this is supposed to work?

Any help is appreciated!

Cheers
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3339
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by jwick »

I'll have to look at your files. PM me your email address and we can straighten it out off-line.
The GUI doesn't know about your global change.
SWard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by SWard »

I'm not able to PM, apparently since my profile is too new. Any other options?
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3339
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by jwick »

Can you send an email to me, or is similarly restricted?
Or paste your %appdata%/3dconnexion/3dxware/cfg/global.xml file here.
SWard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by SWard »

Not able to send an email either. Here is the Global.xml

<Global xmlns="" Default="false" CfgFormatVersion="1.3" ThisFileVersion="2.0">
<CfgProperties>
<ID>ID_Global_Cfg</ID>
<Name>STR_GLOBALCFG</Name>
<InheritsFromID>ID_Base_Cfg</InheritsFromID>
</CfgProperties>
<AuthorInfo>
<DriverVersion>17.6.3.16588</DriverVersion>
<LastChange>
<Tool>3DxSmartUI.exe</Tool>
<Version>1.2.19261.16572</Version>
<Date>11/18/2019 6:15:24 PM UTC</Date>
<User>WardS</User>
</LastChange>
<Created>
<Tool>3DxService.exe</Tool>
<Version>17.6.3.16588</Version>
<Date>2019:11:5:15:20:6:20:841</Date>
<User>WardS</User>
</Created>
</AuthorInfo>
<Settings>
<CheckedForMouseSysParams/>
<InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>false</InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>
<LogLevel>0</LogLevel>
</Settings>
<Devices>
<Device>
<ID>ID_ProductID_C654</ID>
<Settings>
<OverallScale>1.68</OverallScale>
</Settings>
</Device>
<Device>
<ID>ID_Standard_2D_Mouse</ID>
<Settings>
<UpdateRate>1000</UpdateRate>
<LiftDetection>true</LiftDetection>
</Settings>
</Device>
</Devices>
</Global>
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3339
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by jwick »

Make your Global.xml CadMouse Pro Wireless entry look like this (and add the MacroTable below it):

Code: Select all

    <Devices>
    .... (your other entries)
    	<Device>
		<Name>CadMouse Pro Wireless</Name>
		<ID>ID_ProductID_C654</ID>
		<Settings>
			<OverallScale>1.68</OverallScale>
		</Settings>
		<ButtonBank>
			<Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
			<ID>Default</ID>
			<Button>
				<Input>
					<ActionID>HIDButton_5</ActionID>
				</Input>
				<Output>
					<ActionID>Task View</ActionID>
				</Output>
			</Button>
		</ButtonBank>
	</Device>
  </Devices>
  <MacroTable>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>Task View</ID>
      <KeyStroke>
        <Modifiers>
          <Modifier>Windows</Modifier>
        </Modifiers>
        <Key>2B</Key>
      </KeyStroke>
    </MacroEntry>
   </MacroTable>
There is one gotcha. This relies on the driver using a ButtonBank with ID "Default" at the time. Most of the time this is the case. Some applications though, typical CAD applications like SOLIDWORKS, change ButtonBanks to correspond to the mode they are in (Part, Assembly, Drafting, etc). In that case the driver will be using a different ButtonBank ID and will be looking for a BB of that ID in this file. I can guide you though that if you encounter that limitation. (You have to make a BB for each ID in use.)

You are just overriding one button. The other buttons will continue to be application-specific.

Let me know how this works for you.
Jim
SWard
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: CadMouse Default Button Settings

Post by SWard »

Thanks Jim, I was able to figure out the Global edits after a while yesterday. I did it a little different (macro table ahead of devices), but it seems to be working.
I was also able to figure out how to add that macro to the GUI dropdown by editing the en-US, Base, and AppDefCfg_KMJ files.
I did notice the catch with the different ButtonBank modes and that it wouldn't work or show up in certain cases. I figured that out too just now thanks to your explanation.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<Global Default="false" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.3" ThisFileVersion="2.0">
  <CfgProperties>
    <ID>ID_Global_Cfg</ID>
    <Name>STR_GLOBALCFG</Name>
    <InheritsFromID>ID_Base_Cfg</InheritsFromID>
  </CfgProperties>
  <AuthorInfo>
    <DriverVersion>17.6.3.16588</DriverVersion>
    <LastChange>
      <Tool>3DxSmartUI.exe</Tool>
      <Version>1.2.19261.16572</Version>
      <Date>11/18/2019 6:51:41 PM UTC</Date>
      <User>WardS</User>
    </LastChange>
    <Created>
      <Tool>3DxService.exe</Tool>
      <Version>17.6.3.16588</Version>
      <Date>2019:11:5:15:20:6:20:841</Date>
      <User>WardS</User>
    </Created>
  </AuthorInfo>
  <Settings>
    <CheckedForMouseSysParams />
    <InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>false</InstallerAutoCheckForUpdates>
    <LogLevel>0</LogLevel>
  </Settings>
  <MacroTable>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>Task View</ID>
      <KeyStroke>
        <Key>E3</Key>
        <Key>2B</Key>
      </KeyStroke>
    </MacroEntry>
  </MacroTable>
  <Devices>
    <Device>
      <ID>ID_ProductID_C654</ID>
      <Settings>
        <OverallScale>1.68</OverallScale>
      </Settings>
	  <ButtonBank Default="true">
        <Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
        <ID>Default</ID>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_5</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Task View</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
      </ButtonBank>
    </Device>
    <Device>
      <ID>ID_Standard_2D_Mouse</ID>
      <Settings>
        <UpdateRate>1000</UpdateRate>
        <LiftDetection>true</LiftDetection>
      </Settings>
    </Device>
  </Devices>
</Global>
I appreciate all your help and time!
Steve
Post Reply