NX not recognized by Enterprise

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Diedukas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:40 am

NX not recognized by Enterprise

Post by Diedukas » Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:53 am

So, as the subject reads.
3D Mouse Enterprise does not recognize Siemens NX 1855 (a.k.a. not NX13).
LCD displays NX - UG_APP_NOPART across the program in all the modules.
If I open NX11, then switching to NX1855 LCD will display last module across all program. For example NX-UG-APP-DRAFTING even if I am in Modeling.

Running Win7Pro 64bit, latest 3D mouse driver, latest NX.

Whats happening? NX is not supported yet?

luping
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:54 pm

Re: NX not recognized by Enterprise

Post by luping » Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:22 pm

Maybe guys at 3Dconnexion need to recompile against NXOpen 1855?

Here's how to do the manual job of adaption:
Copy all folders in
C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxNX64\ugii_dir\v1847
to
C:\Program Files\Siemens\NX\UGALLIANCE\vendor

Making sure there's only this environment variable left there:
Variable name: UGII_3DCONNEXION_DIR
Variable value: C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxNX64\ugii_dir

Now re-plug your run your Spacemouse Enterprise to the USB port and run NX 1855 to check if Spacemouse Enterprise really works. If not, software developers at 3Dconnexion may need to recompile the dynamic link libraries against NXOpen 1855.

Diedukas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:40 am

Re: NX not recognized by Enterprise

Post by Diedukas » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:28 am

Unfortunately this workaround had no effect :(

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3289
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: NX not recognized by Enterprise

Post by UtaSH » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:46 am

Hello Diedukas,

your description sounds as if the plugin is not loaded. Please see the description below if this applies to your installation:
The 3Dconnexion devices have a plug-in for NX called "3Dconnexion Plug-In for NX" or "3DxNX" for short. However, if NX is installed on a server rather than your local machine it might be necessary to make a few changes.

There are two files in NX that are responsible that the plugin is loaded correctly, resp. entries in two files.

1. The file ugii_env.dat is in the installation folder of NX in the subfolder "UGII". (Example: C:\Program Files\Siemens\NX 8.5\UGII\ugii_env.dat). The installer for our driver creates an entry in this file that starts the plugin:

Code: Select all

UGII_3DCONNEXION_LIBRARY=${UGII_3DCONNEXION_DIR}\${UGII_VERSION}\startup\3DxNX.dll

2. The file customs_dir.dat is in the installation folder of NX in the subfolder "UGII\menus". (Example: C:\Program Files\Siemens\NX 8.5\UGII\menus\customs_dir.dat). The installer for our driver creates an entry in this file that sets the path to the files for the UI:

Code: Select all

$UGII_3DCONNEXION_DIR/$UGII_VERSION

If you have a customized installation for NX in your work environment then NX might use other files than the default ones. Please check your NX log file for the information which files are used. You will find this information if you search for these environment variables:

Code: Select all

1. UGII_ENV_FILE
2. UGII_CUSTOM_DIRECTORY_FILE

The file and path that follows these variables is the one that is used. Please add the lines from above to those files and restart NX.

Diedukas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:40 am

Re: NX not recognized by Enterprise

Post by Diedukas » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:24 pm

Hi all,
the solution is way simplier.

C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxNX64\ugii_dir

this dir is simply missing anything above NX v1847 (there are v1851 and v1855 available), thus plugin will not load. What I did (suggested by NX Design forum user) is make a copy of a v1847 folder and rename it to v1855 (or your version of NX).
So far so good, until next NX update.

The bad of this situation:
1. This has to be done for all seats with NX+SpaceMouse.
2. Support Ticket at 3DConnection is still open... o_O.
3. Latest driver still has the same problem.
4. Every NX update will need new copy of a mentioned folder.

Regards.

Post Reply