User configurable interface to emulate a keyboard/mouse/Joy

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

muddiman
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:01 am
Location: Lake City, FL
Contact:

User configurable interface to emulate a keyboard/mouse/Joy

Post by muddiman » Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:58 pm

I am contemplating on having a Windows 7 x32/x64 bit driver/user configurable interface developed for the Spacenavigator. The package would mirror RBC9’s application. The cost to do this is not cheap as I have done programming in the past and know what is involved is such a task. My question is what would you consider a reasonable price for such a package? The typical game profiler software is around $20.00 to $30.00 dollars.

Don

necko77
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:14 am

Post by necko77 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:19 am

i would accept that cos now i cant use RBC9 on win 7 64 cos i cant pass driver signature no matter what i do. Only stuff that is left for me is to trow thow connexion in to a garbage

If u have it and it works i would give you 20 and only if can be pyed via PAYPAL

dee3d
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:34 am
Contact:

Post by dee3d » Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:44 am

I'd gladly pay $20 too for a working RBC9-like solution for x64 with automatic profile switching.

muddiman
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:01 am
Location: Lake City, FL
Contact:

User configurable interface to emulate a keyboard/mouse/Joy

Post by muddiman » Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:26 am

I am in the process of getting several quotes form coders at this time. I should know more in a couple of weeks. I have tried the Windows 7 patch for the RBC9 driver but it has major problems to the point it's not really usable. This is one on the reasons I contemplating on producing a driver for Windows x32/x64 bit.

Later,

Don

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jwick » Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:51 pm

While it would be informative to find out how much you guys are willing to pay for this driver, in all good conscience I need to stop this thread before you waste too much time. The features you are asking for are in the next 3DxWare release. This has been in closed beta for the last 6 weeks. Feedback has been received. Changes are being made. An open beta will be conducted when those changes have been completed and approved by the closed beta group.

Keep an eye on the 3DxLabs page. The plans are for the open beta to be announced there.

3Dx Software Development

Phaedron
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:52 pm

Post by Phaedron » Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:15 pm

jwick wrote:The features you are asking for are in the next 3DxWare release. This has been in closed beta for the last 6 weeks.
Just came back here on my monthly check of the situation regarding generic drivers, and am VERY pleasantly surprised on this change of heart.

Great to hear, great work for the people that made this happen, and can't wait to use the Space Navigator again and finally being able to recommend your product to friends.

Kudos !

Artesiastp
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 10:56 pm

Post by Artesiastp » Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:41 pm

jwick wrote:While it would be informative to find out how much you guys are willing to pay for this driver, in all good conscience I need to stop this thread before you waste too much time. The features you are asking for are in the next 3DxWare release. This has been in closed beta for the last 6 weeks. Feedback has been received. Changes are being made. An open beta will be conducted when those changes have been completed and approved by the closed beta group.

Keep an eye on the 3DxLabs page. The plans are for the open beta to be announced there.

3Dx Software Development
I was told about this at Siggraph but told not to talk about it on the forums. Why wasn't I allowed to beta test it!? ;)

It's been hard waiting for it knowing it's actually going to happen, and not being allowed to mention it (out of respect for the rep who told me at Siggraph)

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jwick » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:28 am

The first beta is over. There were so many changes requested for the next one that there is no point in getting fresh feedback on the first one anymore. You can participate in the next beta if you wish.

Yes, it is a little early to be talking about this in the forums...when no one can actually see it. It just gets people angry.

I only stepped in here because someone was going to waste his own money.

Thanks for the interest and the helpful forum postings (we do read all of them).

tarc
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:22 am

Post by tarc » Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:45 pm

Wow, those are great news!

Being able to emulate a mousewheel will be very useful for tablet users.

Tarc

tecdoc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:54 am

Post by tecdoc » Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:16 am

Hi.
I´ve got a SpacePilot pro but the button mapping doesn´t works in the game SecondLife. This is very annoying, because the game is listet at 3Dconnexion as compatible for SpacePilot pro.
Will be there possible with the following beta drivers to configuring keyboard makros ?

Sorry for my bad english ;-)

tecdoc

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jwick » Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:43 am

Yes, keyboard macros should work in SecondLife with the next gen driver.

tecdoc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:54 am

Post by tecdoc » Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:37 pm

:D

I´m very happy about these answer and I´m waiting what will happen before I offer the SpacePilot in ebay. ;-)
Perhaps it will be a good tool in future.

tecdoc

tecdoc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:54 am

Post by tecdoc » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:28 am

Hi jwick.

You have already postet the solution to all my problems more than two years ago.

viewtopic.php?t=2009

It takes 5 minutes and everything works fine now.
Buttonmapping and Makros are possible in SecondLife , also the Profile is loading now automatic with the application.

Perhaps it will be a good idea to make the thread sticky, I spend too much time to find it.


tecdoc

jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jwick » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:08 am

tecdoc,

I'm glad that solved your problem. I think that's way too difficult for the average user. It'll be much easier with the new driver.

Jim

tecdoc
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:54 am

Post by tecdoc » Sat Sep 25, 2010 1:43 am

Hi Jim.

After installation by the new beta driver 3.12 I can´t assess any change regarding the buttonmapping and user defined makros.

Without the self-made profile the buttons still not working and the new saved any-profile isn´t available after a few time. :cry:

Achim

Locked