How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
rcesauve
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:43 pm

How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Post by rcesauve » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:23 am

Hello,
I'd like to know if there is a way to customize my buttons for the different environnement of Catia.
I mean is there a way to have a my buttons to do specific action while in a design window and other specific action while in a drawing window (for example the button 4 is for creating a hole in the design windowe and it is for adding dimension in my drawing/drafting window).
I know this option is available on other cad programs, but can i do it on catia?

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3289
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Post by UtaSH » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:06 am

Hello rcesauve,

this functionality is not available in Catia. Sorry.

slamek
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:06 am

Re: How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Post by slamek » Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:56 am

Hello,
It's a shame that we don't have environment recognition for Catia. Can't you add this funcionality?
I don't see a big problem for this, with VBA you can recognize Catia environment with 2 lines of code :

Dim strWbID As String
strWbID = CATIA.GetWorkbenchId()

The strWbID outputs Catia active environment (Assembly, PrtCfg-Part, Drw-Drawing, CS0WKS-Sketch etc.)

If you can't make this possible, although i do not see a problem, can you add funcionality to manualy change and add custom button profiles?
For example, i manualy create multiple profiles for Catia (Catia-drawing, Catia-Part etc..) , and then change it with press of a button.

I have Spacemouse Enterprise and i like it very much, but this restrictions bother me.

Thanks!

UtaSH
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3289
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Post by UtaSH » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:47 am

Hello slamek,

together with Dassault Systèmes we are working on this. Please bear with us. :-)

SSC
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:40 pm

Re: How to customize my spacepilot to the various environnement of catia

Post by SSC » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:58 pm

It can be easily done by whoever is responsible for CATIA.dll (found under the default installation location C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore64\Win64\DLLs)

Apparently, Developers at 3dconnextion are not showing any interest to fix it.
Here is another thread I started and I am still waiting.
https://www.3dconnexion.com/forum/viewt ... 957#p65957

Post Reply