Driver Alternative to use your 3D device in what you want Ap

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Wufnir
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:08 pm

Driver Alternative to use your 3D device in what you want Ap

Post by Wufnir »

I'm waiting for a driver and actually it's just a dream...

Well.

Do you know GlovePIE ?
Glove Programmable Input Emulator

It's here : http://carl.kenner.googlepages.com/glovepie

The version 0.30 recognize SpacePilot, SpaceNavigator ...
So with a simple script you can use them as Mouse or other.
YES, do want you want with your SpacePilot.

Personnaly I prefer AutoHotKey (http://www.autohotkey.com/) but it doesn't recognize my SpacePilot. :(
And the licence for GlovePIE is a little special, but I've nothing else...

And now ?
Simple, launch GlovePIE, load your script, Et Voilà !
It's like a portable app.

My OS is Windows Vista Enterprise x64 and it's work.
I play Guild Wars with my Space Pilot :D
YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAHHH!

Just one thing, it is recommanded to launch it as Administrator on Vista.

I give you my first script.

Code: Select all

Key.down = (SpaceBall.pitch > 0.97) ;
Key.up = (SpaceBall.pitch < -0.97) ;
Key.right = (SpaceBall.yaw > -0.97) ;
Key.left = (SpaceBall.yaw < 0.97) ;
I try the simulation of zoom in zoom out :

Code: Select all

Mouse.WheelUp = SpaceBall.Button10 ;
Mouse.WheelDown = SpaceBall.Button11 ;
Button10 and Button11 are affected to "T" and "F" keys in the Control Panel.

Same Process to launch attack in Guild Wars.

Code: Select all

Key.one = SpaceBall.Button1 ;
Key.two = SpaceBall.Button2 ;
Key.three = SpaceBall.Button3 ;
Key.four = SpaceBall.Button4 ;
Key.five = SpaceBall.Button5 ;
It's now possible to play Guild Wars with one hand.
This scripts are just for testing, if you improve it share it.
Simulate mouse, joystick or else. Share your scripts.

May be this be usefull for you ppl.
Wufnir
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:08 pm

Post by Wufnir »

It's not possible to modify message...


Value for SpaceBall vary between -40 to +40.

I test it with :

Code: Select all

if (SpaceBall.Pitch <> 0) then DebugPrint("Pitch = " + SpaceBall.Pitch) ;
if (SpaceBall.yaw <> 0) then DebugPrint("Yaw = " + SpaceBall.yaw) ;
if (SpaceBall.roll <> 0) then DebugPrint("Roll = " + SpaceBall.roll) ;
if (SpaceBall.x <> 0) then DebugPrint("X = " + SpaceBall.x) ;
if (SpaceBall.y <> 0) then DebugPrint("Y = " + SpaceBall.y) ;
if (SpaceBall.z <> 0) then DebugPrint("Z = " + SpaceBall.z) ;
if (SpaceBall.axis <> 0) then DebugPrint("Axis = " + SpaceBall.axis) ;
if (SpaceBall.axisangle <> 0) then DebugPrint("AxisAngle = " + SpaceBall.axisangle) ;
I cut in the middle and choose -20 and 20.for condition.
In first place I think the value was between -1 to +1.
Magic Man
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:51 am
Location: South Wales

Post by Magic Man »

Thanks for the info.
Dwabble
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:54 am
Location: EU

Post by Dwabble »

Here's my testscript for reference:

Code: Select all

// GlovePIE 0.3 script
// test of assigning spaceball (spacenavigator) to PPjoy
// value of -200 to 200 (when speedmark 6 and asvanced slider centered)
// from spacenavigator input becomes -1.0 to 1.0 for PPjoy
// if the speed or advanced sliders are changed the value of 200 as
// divider has to be corrected for that
//
// note that to use PPjoy you need to install the PPjoy emulation
// software which  is a discontniued project after v0.83 and seems
// no to have been advanced since before vista or 64bit became available

//left-right horiontal
ppjoy.analog0 = spaceball.x / 200
//forwards-backwards horiontal
ppjoy.analog1 = spaceball.z / 200
//up-down
ppjoy.analog2 = spaceball.y / 200

// rotate
ppjoy.analog3 = spaceball.yaw / 200
// tilt forwards-backwards
ppjoy.analog4 = spaceball.pitch / 200
// tilt left-right
ppjoy.analog5 = spaceball.roll / 200

// left button  to button2
// spaceball.fit is the default assignment of the left key
// needed to detect the left key when it's assigned 'fit' in control
// panel. result is True/False
ppjoy.digital1 = spaceball.fit
bjevers
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:09 am

A question

Post by bjevers »

When I use GlovePIE my SpaceNav is only detected as Joystick1. If I try to use the Spaceball assignment, it doesn't work. Is this right? Or am I doing something wrong. I'm running Vista x64.

Thanks...Brian
Dwabble
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:54 am
Location: EU

Post by Dwabble »

I can't say, I haven't tried it in vista/vista64, I seldomly start up that partition.
It does seem odd though because the spacenavigator doesn't ID itself as joystick AFAIK, it only does with the RBC9 driver, but I was given to understand that was not 64bit compatible.
Of course if it does that's no problem is it? You'd just use the joystick functionality of GlovePIE.
bjevers
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:09 am

Post by bjevers »

Dwabble wrote:Of course if it does that's no problem is it? You'd just use the joystick functionality of GlovePIE.
It's working now using SpaceBall. I didn't have the 3DConnexion software installed before so it only saw it as a joystick.
bjevers
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:09 am

FPS shooters

Post by bjevers »

Has anyone written a script that works well with FPS games? I tried the following simple mouse emulation script to "look around" with my SpaceNav, but it was way too sensitive. Tried it in UT3.

Mouse.x = MapRange(SpaceBall.Yaw, -20,20, 0,1)
Mouse.y = MapRange(SpaceBall.Pitch, 20,-20, 0,1)

I have the sensitivity turned all the way down in the 3DConnexion control panel, that's why my values are only -20,20.

Since PPJoy doesn't work in Vista x64, is it possible to plug in my MS 360 wireless joypad and emulate it? GlovePIE detects my 360 controllers as PPJoy1. I tried:

PPJoy1.Analog0 = MapRange(SpaceBall.x, -20,20, -1,1)

It didn't work...

Thanks...Brian
Dwabble
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:54 am
Location: EU

Post by Dwabble »

Perhaps you should not turn doen the sensitivity so much, if there's a larger range there's more precision isn't there?
Basically the sensitivity is controlled by your code in GlovePIE and not by the GUI if you don't use it in applications that 3dconnexion handles, turning it down in the 3dconnexion GUI just gives you less to work with in GlovePIE I'm thinking..
bjevers
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:09 am

Post by bjevers »

Solved all my problems by dual booting into Vista 32bit and using the RBC9 driver to play games. I'll do this for now until someone comes out with a 64bit solution like RBC9's.
Dwabble
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:54 am
Location: EU

Post by Dwabble »

Yeah it's annoying as hell when things aren't available in 64bit, 64bit just is where things are at with all the RAM we can now afford.
Alaric
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Florida

Post by Alaric »

Wow very nice script.. I will be using this extensively. Thank you much!
HeZoR
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:13 am

Post by HeZoR »

How does glovepie work with SpacePilot?
Please post a quick tutorial.

I run GlovePie 0.30 (v0.29 is better they say) with the old sample SpaceBall but that didn't work.
I run RBC9 driver to make it show on Game Controllers but it only works with the generic hid sys driver, and in game controller the axes are not working.


So, does anyone know how to make a SpacePilot work as a game controller?
RBC9 driver is made for SpaceNavigator, i tested all versions with not much luck.

Please make a tutorial with the correct sequence of which drivers and where they're available for downloading, the installing procedure and which should be running to work with SpacePilot!
abrennan007
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:37 pm

Post by abrennan007 »

Will someone please help me? I just downloaded glovepie and I need a script to use my spaceball 5000 with world of warcraft. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.
Post Reply