SW2007 - Assembly Mode

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on Windows.

Moderator: Moderators

spainman

SW2007 - Assembly Mode

Post by spainman »

Hi,

I'm running sw2007 Sp3.1 with a Spacenavigator PE and 3DxSoft V3.3.6.

Playing around in the assembly mode of SW I noticed that it is NOT possible to move a part in all dimensions. I can move the part up/down and left/right
and rotate it but movement into depth does not work.

In conclusion: Moving the whole scene in all dimensions works fine. Movement of a selected part doesn't.

In the puzzle demo (comparable to the assembly mode of SW) movement in all axis works as expected.

I'm new to SW and the Spacenavigator, but searched all the way through the configuration options of SW and the 3dx plugin and did not find a solution. Am I missing something?

Regards,
Ruben
ngomes

Re: SW2007 - Assembly Mode

Post by ngomes »

Hi spainman,
Playing around in the assembly mode of SW I noticed that it is NOT possible to move a part in all dimensions. I can move the part up/down and left/right
and rotate it but movement into depth does not work.
This is correct. When manipulating a part in an assembly -- what we call the sub-part movement feature, the 3D Mouse will not move it along the depth direction. This is by design.

When moving a part within an assembly in SolidWorks, the human eye is unable to distinguish the very subtle changes when moving the part along that direction.
Nuno Gomes
spainman

Post by spainman »

Hi,

is this by design of SW or of the 3dx plugin? It would be desirable to let the user choose if he wants to restrict movement of the part into depth.

Is there any way around this restriction?

Thanks,
Ruben
ngomes

Post by ngomes »

spainman wrote:is this by design of SW or of the 3dx plugin?
By design of the 3Dconnexion add-in.
spainman wrote:Is there any way around this restriction?
Currently, there is no possible of enabling movement along the depth direction (z direction/axis).