3DxWare 1.2.0 isn't displayed correctly

Questions and answers about 3Dconnexion devices on UNIX and Linux.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Moses
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:03 am

3DxWare 1.2.0 isn't displayed correctly

Post by Moses » Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:01 am

Hi

After I started the daemon with "sudo /etc/3DxWare/daemon/3dxsrv -d usb"
a Window opens, obviously something for configuration.... but it looks very mixed up. How can I fix this? Or could you please fix this in your next release?

Screenshot:
Image

thank you for your help :)

Moses

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:04 am

Hi Moses,

what the ... :shock: Oh dear! I haven't seen our GUI distorted, least of all like this.

What desktop and/or window manger are you using?
What Linux distribution and kernel version do you use?
Which version of 3DxWareUNIX are you using (3dxsrv -v)?
What Motif libraries have you installed and which version are they?

Regards,

Christian Robl
3Dconnexion

Moses
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:03 am

Post by Moses » Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:32 pm

Desktop: Gnome + Compiz Fusion
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10
Kernel: ahhhhhm.... the newest? i think it ends with .xx-22
3DxWareUNIX = V1.2.0, ID 2770

Motif: ok just installed all libs I found with aptitude.... now it works ;) thank you :D

Great Support! Thank you!


PS: Salute to my friends, who gave me this great device to my birthday: Now it WORKS! Thank you guys! :lol:

ellson
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Post by ellson » Sun May 04, 2008 7:42 am

I see the same problem on Fedora 8 and 9, x86_64 boxes.

I have lesstif installed.

I guess Motif is proprietary? " yum list *motif* " produces no hits.

Why does a driver open a window at all? The driver seems to work inspite
of the window being borked and useless (xcube works).
Shouldn't this be done by a separate utility program?

crobl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Freiham, Germany

Post by crobl » Tue May 06, 2008 10:11 am

Hi ellson,

please uninstall lesstif and install recent OpenMotif packages. This should fix your problems. I've seen that (some versions of) lesstif has a/some bug/s that result in a buggy GUI.

Regarding Motif: It is not really proprietary. Well, the original Motif kind of is/was, but the open source developments OpenMotif and lesstif aren't. Its a commonly used UI toolkit on UNIX and Linux (on the latter one it gets more and more replaced by more recent UI toolkits).

I wonder why your yum-command doesn't produce any output. It should at least print out lesstif. What if you widen the search criteria and just search for *otif*? or what does rpm tell?

Code: Select all

rpm -qa | grep otif
Anyway, please let me know if switching to OpenMotif helps solving your problem!

Regards,

Christian
3Dconnexion

Post Reply