value range obtained by SI_MOTION_EVENT

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Windows Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

tsk_2jyo

value range obtained by SI_MOTION_EVENT

Post by tsk_2jyo »

Hi,

I'm new to start developing software for my hobby application.
For starters, I tried to execute demos in SDK, (a) Demo3Dx_3DxTest, (b) Demo3Dx_3DxTstMFC and (c) Demo3Dx_TestSiapp.

There is a sentence 'The normal range of the device axes is approximately +/- 350. '
in 'Data Supplied' section of SDK document, and yes, for (a), I can recognize +/- 350 value when I move the sensor cap onto almost maximum position for each axis.
But for (b) MFC and (c) C# demos, the value at maximum position is from about +/- 2000 to 3000 for each axis. (It's hard to find maximum value of each orientation on (b) and (c) because value increases further when I move the sensor cap as following: firstly move the cap to the bottom then the TY shows the value around 2080, secondary move the cap to TX or TZ orientation with keeping the bottom position of cap then it increase up to around 3000. For (a) -350 of TY value is kept when I move the cap like above.)

Why and by what configuration difference in the demo program cause these difference?

Environment:
- Device: SpaceNavigator USB (FW:4.31)
- Driver: 3DxWare64_v10-6-0_r2972
- SDK: 3DxWare-SDK_v3-4-0_r14759

Note:
I do not change any settings by driver's GUI.
So, the positions of slide bars in the GUI show 'center' position for all (a), (b) and (c).

Thanks.
jwick

Re: value range obtained by SI_MOTION_EVENT

Post by jwick »

The current hardware does not produce values greater than +/- 350. This may change with future hardware.