space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two buttons

Post questions, comments and feedback to our 3Dconnexion Windows Development Team.

Moderator: Moderators

cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two buttons

Post by cesern »

I use the two buttons on the space mouse to control movement sensitivity, but rotation sensitivity is dragged with it and makes me spin uncontrollably when need high sensitivity or hardly rotate at all when is low. Any way I can and isolate sensitivity shortcut controls just for movement axis.

If this is no possible is there a way to apply automatic sensitivity when scaling into smaller or larger areas like the standard mouse.

Any help or suggestions would be grateful
Thanks
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

I don't have a precanned ButtonActions to do this. I think this is the second time someone asked for them.
It also can not be done on a global basis; only per application.

You can write a ButtonAction that will call a script to edit the translation axis scale factors, but only for the current application.
You need two. One to increase. The other to descrease.

The fields that need to be changed are (e.g. in the Jet.xml file):

Code: Select all

  <Settings>
    <ScaleX>2.0</ScaleX>
    <ScaleY>2.0</ScaleY>
    <ScaleZ>2.0</ScaleZ>
    <ScaleRx>0.37</ScaleRx>
    <ScaleRy>0.37</ScaleRy>
    <ScaleRz>0.37</ScaleRz>
  </Settings>
Just change the ScaleXYZ values. These are the scale factors used for Translations. The ScaleRxyz are used for rotations.

We can only do intelligent scaling if we know what the "smaller/larger areas" are. We don't know anything about what the application is doing with the data from the device unless we have a plugin. What application are you using?
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

Thanks a lot , I think this is just what I needed. I'm using cinema 4d, there is a 3d dialog and a translation value slider. I don't have a clue about the script. is this html script? where can I open this script so I can copy and paste?
thanks again
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

(I haven't seen C4D in years).
There is a slider that just controls translation scale in the 3D mouse GUI inside C4D?
And you want to control that with the device buttons instead of opening the GUI?
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

I have found the translation slider, but how do I load the script editor?
thanks
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

Script editor = Notepad

If you are not a programmer, there is no practical way that you are going to get this to work. It's conceptually easy but there are a lot of details that will trip you up.
Let me talk with one of the other developers tomorrow to see if there is anything easier in place, like a kb macro.
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

Thank you so much
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

The translation scale slider in C4D is not exposed for use by buttons.

You can use a script to change the scale in the cfg file.
Here is a powershell script that will change the translation scale factors.

Code: Select all

# ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1
#
# This changes the Settings/ScaleXYZ values in a specific cfg by a specified scale factor
#
#
# Typical usage:
# .\ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1 Cinema4D.xml 2.0
#
#   <ButtonActions>
#...
#    <ButtonAction Type="Exe">
#      <ID>DoubleTransScale</ID>
#      <Name>Double Trans Scale</Name>
#      <Executable>powershell.EXE</Executable>
#      <Arg>.\ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1 &apos;Cinema 4D 64Bit.xml&apos; 2</Arg>
#    </ButtonAction>
#    <ButtonAction Type="Exe">
#      <ID>HalveTransScale</ID>
#      <Name>Halve Trans Scale</Name>
#      <Executable>powershell.EXE</Executable>
#      <Arg>.\ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1 &apos;Cinema 4D 64Bit.xml&apos; .5</Arg>
#    </ButtonAction>
#
#   Put this script into the 3DxWinCore directory (or change the path to wherever you put it).
#   It will edit the named cfg file in %appdata%/3Dconnexion/3DxWare/Cfg.
#   The appdata cfg file must exist (change something to write it).
#   The ButtonActions (Double Trans Scale, Halve Trans Scale) will appear in the GUI until Utilities.
#
#
if ($args.count -lt 2) {
    Write-Host "Missing cfg filename and/or scale factor. Exiting script."
    exit
}


function Get-XmlNode([ xml ]$XmlDocument, [string]$NodePath, [string]$NamespaceURI = "", [string]$NodeSeparatorCharacter = '.')
{
    # If a Namespace URI was not given, use the Xml document's default namespace.
    if ([string]::IsNullOrEmpty($NamespaceURI)) { $NamespaceURI = $XmlDocument.DocumentElement.NamespaceURI }   
     
    # In order for SelectSingleNode() to actually work, we need to use the fully qualified node path along with an Xml Namespace Manager, so set them up.
    $xmlNsManager = New-Object System.Xml.XmlNamespaceManager($XmlDocument.NameTable)
    $xmlNsManager.AddNamespace("ns", $NamespaceURI)
    $fullyQualifiedNodePath = "/ns:$($NodePath.Replace($($NodeSeparatorCharacter), '/ns:'))"
     
    # Try and get the node, then return it. Returns $null if the node was not found.
    $node = $XmlDocument.SelectSingleNode($fullyQualifiedNodePath, $xmlNsManager)
    return $node
}


$cfgFile = $args[0];
$scaleFactor = $args[1];

# Use user's Appdata dir
$appdata = [environment]::GetFolderPath("ApplicationData")
$cfgPath = $appdata+"\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\Cfg"
pushd $cfgPath

# Open file
$xmlfilename = Get-Item $cfgFile

#Exit if file doesn't exist
if (Test-Path $cfgFile) {

}Else{
  Write-Host $cfgFile "does not exist in" $cfgPath
  exit
}

[xml]$xml = [xml](Get-Content $xmlfilename)

$settingsNode = Get-XmlNode -XmlDocument $xml -NodePath "AppCfg.Settings"
if ($settingsNode -eq $null) {
    $settingsNode = $xml.CreateElement("Settings")
    $xml.DocumentElement.AppendChild($settingsNode) | out-null
}


$scaleXNode = Get-XmlNode -XmlDocument $xml -NodePath "AppCfg.Settings.ScaleX"
if ($scaleXNode -ne $null) {
    # Modify Settings if already exists
    $xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleX = [string]([float]$xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleX * [float]$scaleFactor)
}Else{
    # Create Settings if it is missing
    $scaleXNode = $xml.CreateElement('ScaleX')
    $scaleXNode.InnerText = $scaleFactor
    $settingsNode.AppendChild($scaleXNode) | out-null
}

$scaleYNode = Get-XmlNode -XmlDocument $xml -NodePath "AppCfg.Settings.ScaleY"
if ($scaleYNode -ne $null) {
    # Modify Settings if already exists
    $xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleY = [string]([float]$xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleY * [float]$scaleFactor)
}Else{
    # Create Settings if it is missing
    $scaleYNode = $xml.CreateElement('ScaleY')
    $scaleYNode.InnerText = $scaleFactor
    $settingsNode.AppendChild($scaleYNode) | out-null
}

$scaleZNode = Get-XmlNode -XmlDocument $xml -NodePath "AppCfg.Settings.ScaleZ"
if ($scaleZNode -ne $null) {
    # Modify Settings if already exists
    $xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleZ = [string]([float]$xml.AppCfg.Settings.ScaleZ * [float]$scaleFactor)
}Else{
    # Create Settings if it is missing
    $scaleZNode = $xml.CreateElement('ScaleZ')
    $scaleZNode.InnerText = $scaleFactor
    $settingsNode.AppendChild($scaleZNode) | out-null
}

$xml.Save($xmlfilename)

# return to calling dir
popd

Save it in the 3DxWinCore64 directory.

Then you need to add two ButtonActions to the C4D cfg file to run the script. Here is a Cinema 4D 64Bit.xml file you can use to replace the one we ship.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<AppCfg Default="true" xmlns="" CfgFormatVersion="1.2" ThisFileVersion="1.3">
  <AppInfo>
    <Signature>
      <Name>STR_CINEMA4D64BIT</Name>
      <ExecutableName>CINEMA 4D 64 Bit.exe</ExecutableName>
      <VersionRange>
        <Min>1.0</Min>
        <Max>1.0</Max>
      </VersionRange>
      <Transport>MWM</Transport>
    </Signature>
    <Options>
      <IgnoreMouseWheelInertia>true</IgnoreMouseWheelInertia>
      <SendDeviceChangeEvent>false</SendDeviceChangeEvent>
    </Options>
  </AppInfo>
  <Settings>
    <ResponseCurve>1.7</ResponseCurve>
  </Settings>
  <ButtonActions>
    <ButtonAction Type="Exe">
      <ID>DoubleTransScale</ID>
      <Name>Double Trans Scale</Name>
      <Executable>powershell.EXE</Executable>
      <Arg>.\ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1 &apos;CINEMA 4D 64Bit.xml&apos; 2</Arg>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Exe">
      <ID>HalveTransScale</ID>
      <Name>Halve Trans Scale</Name>
      <Executable>powershell.EXE</Executable>
      <Arg>.\ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1 &apos;CINEMA 4D 64Bit.xml&apos; .5</Arg>
    </ButtonAction>
    <!-- App Handled Actions -->
    <ButtonAction Type="App">
      <ID>App_PassToApplication</ID>
      <Name>STR_APP_PASSTOAPPLICATION</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="App">
      <ID>App_ResetYourView</ID>
      <Name>STR_APP_RESETYOURVIEW</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="App">
      <ID>App_ShowYourGUI</ID>
      <Name>STR_APP_SHOWYOURGUI</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <!-- Macros -->
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_PlayForwardsStop</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_PLAYFS</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Mirror</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_MIRROR</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_StitchandSew</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_STITCHANDSEW</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Bevel</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_BEVEL</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_MatrixExtrude</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_MATRIXEXTRUDE</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_SmoothShift</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_SMOOTHSHIFT</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Magnet</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_MAGNET</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Bridge</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_BRIDGE</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Extrude</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_EXTRUDE</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_CreatePolygon</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_CREATEPOLYGON</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_ZoomToGeometry</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_ZOOMTOGEOMETRY</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_MaterialsManager</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_MATERIALSMANAGER</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Timeline</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_TIMELINE</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_RenderSettings</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_RENDERSETTINGS</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_ScaleTool</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_SCALETOOL</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_RotateTool</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_ROTATETOOL</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_MoveTool</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_MOVETOOL</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_FrontView</ID>
      <Name>STR_FRONTVIEW</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Pforwards</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_PFORWARDS</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_RAView</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_RAV</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_RightView</ID>
      <Name>STR_RIGHTVIEW</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_TopView</ID>
      <Name>STR_TOPVIEW</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_PerspectiveView</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_PERSPECTIVE</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Bot</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_BOT</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_NextFrame</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_NEXTFRAME</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_Eot</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_EOT</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Bevel</ID>
      <Name>Bevel</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Brush</ID>
      <Name>Brush</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <ButtonAction Type="Macro">
      <ID>Macro_C4D_PreviousFrame</ID>
      <Name>STR_C4D_PREVIOUSFRAME</Name>
    </ButtonAction>
    <!-- RadialMenus -->
  </ButtonActions>
  <Menus>
    <Executable>3DxPieMenus.exe</Executable>
    <Menu Type="Radial">
      <Name>RM Tools</Name>
      <ID>MenuRM1</ID>
      <GesturesEnabled>true</GesturesEnabled>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_1</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Driver_Toggle_3DxNumPad</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_2</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_CreatePolygon</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_3</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_ZoomToGeometry</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_4</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Extrude</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
    </Menu>
    <Menu Type="Radial">
      <Name>RM Views</Name>
      <ID>MenuRM2</ID>
      <GesturesEnabled>true</GesturesEnabled>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_1</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>App_Function3</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_2</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>App_Function5</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_3</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>App_ResetYourView</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_4</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>App_Function6</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
    </Menu>
    <Menu Type="Radial">
      <Name>RM CADMouse</Name>
      <ID>MenuRM3</ID>
      <GesturesEnabled>true</GesturesEnabled>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_1</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Driver_Toggle_3DxNumPad</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_2</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_PlayForwardsStop</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_3</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_ZoomToGeometry</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
      <Button>
        <Input>
          <ActionID>MenuButton_4</ActionID>
        </Input>
        <Output>
          <ActionID>Macro_C4D_CreatePolygon</ActionID>
        </Output>
      </Button>
    </Menu>
  </Menus>
  <!-- For each Legacy app, default to showing the 3DxWare Popup menu for the menu key, since it used to show the 3DxWare GUI. -->
  <!-- The Base, sends this key to the app -->
  <Devices>
    <Device>
      <Name>Standard 3D Mouse</Name>
      <VendorID>0</VendorID>
      <ProductID>0</ProductID>
      <AxisFilter>None</AxisFilter>
      <CurrentButtonBank>Default</CurrentButtonBank>
      <ButtonBank Default="true">
        <Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
        <ID>Default</ID>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_1</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_Toggle_3DxNumPad</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_FIT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_ZoomToGeometry</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_2</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_CreatePolygon</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_3</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Extrude</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_4</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Bridge</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_5</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Magnet</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_6</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_SmoothShift</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_7</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_MatrixExtrude</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_8</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Bevel</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_9</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_StitchandSew</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_10</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Macro_C4D_Mirror</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_11</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Brush</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_12</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Bevel</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button ReadOnly="true">
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_MENU</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_ESC</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Esc</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_ALT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Alt</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_SHIFT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Shift</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_CTRL</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>KB_Ctrl</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_ROTATE</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_ToggleRotations</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_PANZOOM</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_ToggleTranslations</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_DOMINANT</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_ToggleDominantFilter</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_PLUS</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_IncreaseAppScale</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_MINUS</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Driver_DecreaseAppScale</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_MENU_1</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Base_RadialMenu_MenuRM1</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>V3DK_MENU_2</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Base_RadialMenu_MenuRM2</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
      </ButtonBank>
    </Device>
    <Device>
      <Name>CadMouse</Name>
      <VendorID>256f</VendorID>
      <ProductID>c650</ProductID>
      <InheritsFrom>Standard 2D Mouse</InheritsFrom>
      <ButtonBank>
        <Name>STR_DEFAULT_BUTTONBANK</Name>
        <ID>Default</ID>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_5</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>MotionMacro_Wheel_25_In</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_6</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>MotionMacro_Wheel_25_Out</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
        <Button>
          <Input>
            <ActionID>HIDButton_7</ActionID>
          </Input>
          <Output>
            <ActionID>Base_RadialMenu_MenuRM3</ActionID>
          </Output>
        </Button>
      </ButtonBank>
    </Device>
  </Devices>
  <MacroTable>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>Brush</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>10</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>10</KeyRelease>
        <KeyPress>6</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>6</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
    <MacroEntry>
      <ID>Bevel</ID>
      <Sequence>
        <KeyPress>10</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>10</KeyRelease>
        <KeyPress>16</KeyPress>
        <KeyRelease>16</KeyRelease>
      </Sequence>
    </MacroEntry>
  </MacroTable>
  <UI>
    <ButtonMappingEditor>
      <UseApp>false</UseApp>
      <SyncFunctionID>204</SyncFunctionID>
      <ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
    </ButtonMappingEditor>
    <AdvancedSettingsEditor>
      <UseApp>false</UseApp>
      <SyncFunctionID>205</SyncFunctionID>
      <ActionID>Driver_ShowDriverGUI</ActionID>
    </AdvancedSettingsEditor>
  </UI>
</AppCfg>
In the GUI you can assign these new ButtonActions (under Utilities) to your device buttons.
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

thanks a lot.On the second script is clear I have to replace the Cinema 4D 64Bit.xml with the new one, but on the first script I'm not sure what name should I save it as? and should I save with the .xml extension? also do I save in the Cfg folder or outside?
Thanks
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

I dont know how to change the settingsTscale.ps1. I named the first script as scale.xml on the 3DxWinCore64 folder. I'm not sure if I did this correct. do I need a specific name and file extension. Sorry
jwick
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by jwick »

1) Save the contents of first box to a file named "ChangeSettingsTScale.ps1" in the 3DxWinCore directory. This is typically C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore64

2) Save the second file as "Cinema 4D 64Bit.xml" in C:\Program Files\3Dconnexion\3DxWare\3DxWinCore64\Cfg. That is, if you are running that version of Cinema 4D. You can hover over the 3Dx systray icon if you want to see which version of C4D you are running. You should already have a file of that name. Overwrite it. If you have a different exe, let me know and I will tell you what to change.

3) Then restart 3DxService (stop/start it in the Start Menu).

4) You should then have two new items under your buttons -->Utilities in our GUI. You can assign these items to your buttons.

5) If *2 *0.5 is not enough of a change to be useful, you can change the arguments to the script to whatever you want. Try *8 *0.125, or *10 *0.1.
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

I'm curently stuck on part 4) I'm not sure if it has worked. I have checked all the items under 3dconnexion,Keyboard, macros,mouse and radial menus. I cant tell which are the 2 new items. Could you please tell me what are the 2 new items Im supposed to see.
Thanks
cesern
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: space mouse manual sensitivity control with the two butt

Post by cesern »

Hi, I've followed up everything you said, but this 2 items dont show up. my cinema 4d version is prime does that have anything to do with it?
Post Reply